ecratum News

Request a Demo >>

Top 5 ISO Certifications - Which one do I need?

Posted by Bertrand Duteil on 20/04/2017


Standards and certifications are important for every company, helping them make their processes more efficient and their products safer. One of the most important certification organizations is the International Organization for Standardization.

Founded in 1946 in London, the International Organization for Standardization is an independent and non-governmental international organization. The original goal of the organization was to “facilitate the international coordination and unification of industrial standards”. With more than 162 country members of the organization, the ISO organization has developed over more than 21.580 International Standards the past 70 years. From quality certifications to environmental standards, the ISO helps standardize products and services in the world.

We will today see which ISO certifications are important for the food industry and which ones you actually need for your company.

ISO 9001 for quality management systems

The ISO 9001 provides organizations with quality systems to improve management processes to compete locally and globally. The ISO 9001 is suitable for organizations of all types, sizes and sectors. It helps meeting regulatory requirements and expand into new markets where the certification is required before doing business.
Learn more about ISO 9001

ISO 14001 for environmental management

The ISO 14001 is an international standard for environmental management. It contains guidelines for an environmental management system suitable for companies of all sizes and all industries. The standard covers several fields such as the establishment of an environmental management system, the improvement of environmental performances, the involvement of employees and the public communication about environmental management.
Learn more about ISO 14001

ISO 17025 for testing & calibration laboratories

The ISO 17025 outlines skill requirements for testing and calibration laboratories aiming to increase the data quality and the efficiency of testing laboratories. The standard is divided into two large parts: management requirements and technical requirements. The certification takes place once an internal audit has been successfully passed.
Learn more about ISO 17025

ISO 22000 for food safety

The ISO 22000 is an international quality management system for food safety, taking over principles of the ISO 9001 Standard and the HACCP fundamentals. The standard covers several processes such as supplier monitoring, personal hygiene or handling of control points (HACCP). Every part of the production chain can be certified, allowing third party companies such as food packaging or additives producers to get a certification as well.
Learn more about ISO 22000

ISO 26000 for social responsibility

The ISO 26000, contrary to the other standards, is a guidance and does not deliver any proper certification. Focusing on social responsibility, the ISO 26000 covers several fields such as environment protection, workers protection and communities responsibility. The standard can be applied to companies of all sizes, locations and industries.
Learn more about ISO 26000
More information about the ISO Organisation

Your company needs to request and administrate ISO certifications along with further product and supplier documents? Discover now ecratum and our different SRM modules to support you with your documentation and be audit ready at any time.

Discover now our SRM platform

Tags: Certifications, ISO standard